Academics of 6th, 7th & 8th Grades

Middle school at GGCA is a period of transition from elementary school to high school. Beginning in grade 6, the amount of homework increases and behavioral and academic expectations become higher. In addition, sixth grade marks the beginning of formal computer instruction.

Middle school students should be demonstrating more and more personal discipline and organization. Since they now move from class to class on their own, they will need to arrive at each class on time, equipped with the supplies they need, prepared to learn.

Middle school students are allowed to play on the middle school sports teams and need to keep their grades up to be eligible. Depending upon their ability and the need for players, some eighth graders may be invited to play on the varsity sports teams.

Middle school also provides the student with opportunities for evangelistic outreaches through the school year.

Eighth grade is another unique period for students as they prepare themselves for high school. The emphasis for eighth graders is to take their studies seriously and develop the academic and personal habits that will enable them to be successful in grades 9-12 when they will be building a permanent record where every grade counts. In addition, as students mature, they need to consider the consequences of their actions and decisions, especially as they begin to understand the kind of Christian they want to be. 


used in our 6-8 grade classes come from these sources:


  • Go Math! by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt



1) Scott Foresman America Reads series

  • Beginnings in Literature for 6th grade
  • Discoveries in Literature for 7th grade

2) Mirrors and Windows: Connecting with Literature, Level III for 8th grade

Writing: Institute for Excellence in Writing (

  • Teaching Writing: Structure and Style, Level B © 2014

Grammar & Vocabulary: Institute for Excellence in Writing (

  • Fix It! The Frog Prince
  • Fix It! The Little Mermaid
  • Fix It! Chanticleer

Novels (partial listing)

  • Sign of the Beaver, Elizabeth Gearge Speare
  • Chronicles of Narnia, C. S. Lewis
  • The Hobbit, J. R. R. Tolkien
  • A Christmas Carol, Charles Dickens
  • Where the Red Fern Grows, Wilson Rawls
  • Treasure Island, Robert Louis Stevenson


  • Apologia Exploring Creation with Human Anatomy and Physiology © 2010
  • Abeka: Science: Earth and Space (7th grade)
  • Apologia: General Science (8th grade)

History and Social Studies:

  • Prentice Hall World Studies – Africa © 2005
  • Prentice Hall World Studies – Asia and the Pacific © 2005
  • TCI History Alive! US Through Industrialism
  • TCI  History Alive!  The Ancient World


  • TechnoKids Curriculum


  • The Gospel Project for Middle School
  • The Holy Bible © Eternal